Rhetorical Poetry, or, Adventures in Rhetoric- Part 1

Howdy.  So, I’m currently in a class in my school called College Senior English, which is basically Rhetoric (literally, no BS here).  It’s with the one teacher I’m convinced everyone’s scared of, even though she’s like a parent to everyone (hands down, she’s the toughest grader I’ve ever had), and she likes to give big confusing assignments.  The most recent one is an assignment designed to tap into our creativity and inspiration in order to create something original and rhetorical.  She repeatedly showed us the video, “On the Brightside,” by Nevershoutnever (who is awesome, if you don’t already know), and told us to use the video (link below) as inspiration to create something.  Here’s the catch: what we create has to in some way line up with the themes expressed in the video/song, aside from the obvious “be an individual” and “live life to the fullest”, because she hates clichés.  

I really want to write a poem, in spoken-word style, about this, but I’m not sure where to start.  Those who know me already know I like a challenge, and I also like to rant (a lot…force of habit).  I’m thinking there’s got to be a way to inspire people through this poem, and I have a couple weeks to work on it, so I have plenty of time to create something that’s (hopefully) awesome.

 

That’s my update of the day.

 

Also, those who know me know that I want to be a band director.  A long, long, lonnnng time ago, I asked our band director if I could conduct and teach a piece, to which he agreed (huzzah!), and the score came in today!  I start the teaching process next Tuesday, so I get an entire weekend to do my Rhetoric homework and study the score (I’ll put a link to the piece below).

 

On the Brightside: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zm6i-C0p1Y

Blue Ridge Saga: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erBC7bj8DHY

Leave a Reply

